Books by R. Phoenix

Too Close

Skylar Orion’s life has been complicated ever since his mother abandoned him and his sister Evie. Making ends meet seemed impossible until Tate Chandler took them in — his knight in shining armor who promised to make life about more than just surviving. But Tate is not the man he seemed to be, and even his whispered I love yous and generous gifts do little to soothe the pain he causes. Knowing he can’t give his sister all that she deserves without Tate, Skylar stays with him, relying on bad puns and a worse sense of humor to keep up the charade.

He will do anything for his sister, even if that means acting the responsible adult and going back to his old high school to meet Dexter Weston, the hot math teacher who can make even algebra interesting. Sparks fly between the two of them, but with his dependence on Tate, Skylar isn’t free to follow his heart. He wants what is best for Evie, but can he pass up the chance to find love that heals instead of harms?

Warning: This book contains scenes of domestic abuse and violence that some may find triggering to read.


“You say this is a harsh world, a cruel world; you say this is hell.
This is nothing more than what you deserve.
For centuries, for millennia, we abided by your rules. We created gods for you to worship to explain away what you could not comprehend. When you began to suspect, we convinced you that we were myths, legends, and superstitions. We captured your imaginations with beautiful nightmares; enraptured, you begged for more.
And all the while, we prowled in the shadows, cringing away from the light as though we held no power even as we shaped your world. We allowed you to live untouched because those who had the sway to turn the tides were cowards and fools. They believed you were so much more than what you are.
Weak. Ignorant. Oblivious. Prey.
They were wrong. It was past time for us to drag you down to your proper place.
Now you kneel before us. You bare your throats. You spread your legs.
You work, you serve, you fuck, and you submit.
You obey, or you die.
Some among my kind claim that humans deserve better. They commit treason, defying the laws that keep you where you belong. But every action has an equal and opposite reaction, and nothing you do goes unnoticed. You may send ripples through our status quo, but they are merely that: ripples.
The dice have already been cast, and you have lost.
You fall, one by one.
This is your fate – this, and nothing more.”

The Ripples in the Status Quo and Status Quo works are set within a world where supernatural beings seized control from humans and relegated them to the bottom of the food chain. Used for food, entertainment, and worse, nothing protects them from the hands of those who claim them as slaves. But not everyone adheres to the status quo the world at large has accepted…

The Fate of the Fallen (formerly Ripples in the Status Quo) Series [M/M]
As of January 2017, the series is undergoing edits. Some of the titles in this series are pending re-release and may be unavailable at this time.

1. Bought [Re-released January 2017] – Jace & Elias.
2. Ravel [Re-released January 2017 – Ashton & Reese.
3. Recoil [Re-released January 2017- Khaz & Noah.
4. Owned [Re-released March 2017- Khaz & Noah, Jace & Elias.
5. Temper – Ashton & Reese, Jace & Elias.
6. Refraction – Khaz & Noah, Ashton & Reese (Jace & Elias)

 Status Quo Series [M/M/F]
1. Gifts [Erotica]
Puppy – Liam & Caleb [M/M Dark Erotica]

*Please note that this world has little place for humanity, and as a result, content in these works may contain graphic scenes of depravity, cruelty, and violence–sexual or otherwise–that could be offensive and potentially triggering to some readers.*

* * * * *